Update on no shampoo, university, and aspirations of simple living

I’ve neglected this blog for a while because of various reasons, like being in university for 10 hours (plus commuting …) twice a week and lots to do on the other days. And of course not having anything of interest to write about. So this is going to be a threefold update of sorts.

No shampoo: After caving in and using shampoo during some weekends not spent at home (and on the days afterwards) I quickly got back to using baking soda and vinegar, because I don’t like the feeling and the smell of shampoo washed hair anylonger – even when it’s my  nice, natural, and silicone free shampoo with just a slight smell of pomegranade. So I’ll just keep buying baking soda and experimenting with essential oils. Darling is okay with my hair smelling more natural with a note of vinegar and lemongrass. Cheers.

University: Eighteen hours of class a week don’t sound much at all, I think. But these few hours cause quite a lot of work! For example gathering the essays on my reading list, either they are stored in some weird department libraries on the fifth floor with a photocopying machine in the cellar/basement, or they are already digital and online, but printing them takes an hour because of insane queues on the computers and on the few printing stations. And of course it takes even longer to read all these writings. Paper. Lots of paper. But all in all I’m quite happy with my classes, and I also found some nice people, one of the girls even lives nearby, so sometimes we can go home by train together. I’m attending two seminaries about African language and linguistics again, this time it’s fieldworks, and the genetic classification of languages. Oh, and I’m learning Finnish and Yiddish, while attending lectures from the English and German studies. Diversity, huh? :D

Minimalism/simple living: More or less on hold, for reason see above. But I’m trying to use up stuff I stored, or give it away. For example I gave some opened but never emptied bottles of shampoo to a friend of mine, as well as some powdered sauce etc I don’t want to eat because it contains iodized salt. I was recommended to cut back on iodide, so I try to avoid all additional sources of it, as I still like eating a bit of meat, yoghurt or an egg every now and then, all of them containing more than enough iodide because it’s put in the animal’s food. I kept some of the shampoo I’m not going to use on my head, but it’s pretty good for shaving my legs – or washing smelly feet (or even socks) after a long day all spent in shoes. Haha. I’m also trying to chuck out some clothing, so I cleared one shelf in my closet, which I’m going to fill with things I rarely wear (exceptions: dressy dress and friends), so what will still be in there untouched when I move out again in March will be given away. But all in all I still long for a simpler life, because I notice how too much stuff makes me panic – especially when I turn around, knock something down, and a whole cascade follows while I’m still trying to do what I was doing in the first place while putting back item number one. I don’t like feeling angry and panic-ish, so either I need more place, or less stuff. Option number two sounds better, as money is tight, and I’d also love to go on a semester abroad, so the fewer to carry around the less trouble in the future.

Gotta find a good solution for a semester (or two) abroad, or a way to change university maybe, I think it would be a good thing not to study for five years in only one place.

What do you think?

