Unusual week and university fun

This week was a little different from the ones before …

First of all, on Monday it was my birthday. Nothing special, happens every year. I woke up too late (some people somehow love writing birthday texts right after midnight, making me wake up again … or keep me from falling asleep, in this case) and my darling came over bringing me my favourite breakfast baked goods, a rose – and tickets for a great a capella band, for their concert next month, right after my last class before christmas :) The day at university proceeded more or less normal, on Mondays I have only one class, so I was home pretty early (but not very productive.)

On Tuesday I had to get up early for my Finnish class – and one of the girls handed me this small cake (it was more like a huge, cake-shaped muffin^^), and some chocolates, I was really happy. And you see, all my life I felt like people mostly either hated me or just didn’t realize I exist. This girl has known me for one month and comes from a broken family, stuck in a more or less hopeless situation, and still she gives so much (she also was the one making scans of the vocabulary book for me when I was more or less broke and didn’t want to buy it).

On Wednesday, I had two premieres. #1: I had to supervise a small test in the group I’m usually tutoring in intermediate Swahili. #2: Doing some “fieldworks” myself. Okay, another guy from the Monday class  was with me, but I had initiated the session, prepared the questionary and borrowed a recording device from our professor – and I was the one who was more or less leading the elicitation. So we were sitting there in a room with our informant from Cameroon (who really is doing his PhD at our university and earning some extra money by simulating fieldworks with us), and trying to find out how pronouns and tense markings work in this one language, by making him tell us sentences like “He calls me. He calls you. He calls him. … You called me some minutes ago / some hours ago / a long time ago …” All nicely captured on audio file with the English parts mostly in my squeaky voice with weird pronounciation. And I’ll have to listen to it over and over again tomorrow to complete my transcriptions. Ick.

Today was a funny day. Finnish was okay-ish. Then, when I went to another building for a seminary, there was this electronic pig-plush walking around in the entrance area! No clue whom it belonged to, most people were ignoring it, but me being me wanted to know where it came from and if I could keep it ;) It was a pretty surreal situation, all the students standing or walking around, talking, and this toy just walking around making noises and shaking its tail every now and then. I was already on my way to the elevators when my fellow student K. found me and inspired me to take a picture of our new furry friend. First she thought I had brought the pig … or something like that :D

And Yiddish class was really funny today, whe learned answers to the question about one’s wellbeing. Ok, I guess it ony is funny for speakers of German. “Vos makhstu?” – “Freg nikht!” / “Me shlept sikh.” And we listened to music again. Yay. That’s how I like my last university day of the week to end – Friday is my homework day.

Oh, and it was confirmed I may take a vacational semester to study in Africa if I like, and there is even a possible way to get credit points for the courses there. Just need to find out whether I would find some source of money for this whole thing. But I could also do a payed internship for 3-6 months. We’ll see!

What do you think?

