Changing signature colours

Many of the minimalism / simple living blogs I’m reading give some advise on simplifying one’s wardrobe by choosing one or two colour palettes to make all (or most) of your clothes go together in a decent way.

I recently noticed I’ve been doing this more or less over the last years intuitively. But just like other people have yearly signature colours for lipstick, nail polish or whatever, my colour palette keeps changing. Mostly related to bigger changes in life, and recently also to changes in my appearance: Healthier skin, a little bit of tan (getting darker with every year, so I’m only zombie-white for one half of the year now!), and I’ve finally found a mix of henna hair colour I like (warm medium brown with a slight reddish-golden shimmer, very similar to my natural hair colour, but minus the ashen undertone and the brown faded to greyish-blond in the front; plus my hair is in a long braid now instead of being a shoulder length mess of curls and knots). My body shape has changed a bit as well. More grown-up features, and a little bit more “female” all in all.

I never thought I’d be able to wear grey and blue one day. But let’s start with the earlier days …

School: No clue, I’ve been wearing some mess of clothes. In the end it was jeans, army style trousers, black or brown or green tees, the usual stuff. Mostly in dark colours. *insert random psychological analysis here*

Gap year: Jeans and black trousers, usually combined with black tees and one colourful accent (mostly a bright scarf, or the tee with the neon green turtle print). Sometimes also brown tees. Resulted in a stupid discussion with the other girl: What is a “style”? I also bought a brown summer coat, a purple sweat jacket, and a yellow summer dress.

University, undergraduate studies: steady transition to earth colours – favourite outfit: brown turtle-neck top, khaki shorts, brown tights. Appearance of a light blue summer dress and an indigo sweat jacket.

Postgraduate studies: No idea how, but suddenly I’m wearing more of a grey-and-blue palette. Come to think of it, it might have started with the chequered long sleeve blouse in a warm dark blue, which was inspired by one of the Twilight movies. Yep, I started watching the Twilight saga, got issues because some detail of the story struck some part of my subconscious emotional memory, and I started buying chequered blouses. Don’t ask. But my mom’s favourite colour is dark blue, so at least this part should be no wonder. Favourite outfits at the moment: a) grey shorts, striped grey and black or blue and black tights, random dark blue, grey, or black top/tee. Plus my old black fleece jacket with grey collar. Somehow my oldest clothes last the longest and get their turn to be worn nearly constantly for months every few years! b) the blue dress I got for our wedding in town hall. c) either the grey shorts + brown/black tights, or a pair of jeans, with said (really comfortable!) blouse. All outfits can be combined with my greyish ballet flats or my dark brown heeled sandals. And with my current favourite – the greyish blue army-style blouse/jacket (also a remnant of random shopping sprees during gap year).

This doesn’t mean I don’t own any clothes in other colours, but they don’t get worn as often. An estimated 90% of my clothes are either pairs of jeans or can be combined with them. Even 3 of my 4 shorter dresses can be worn on top of a pair of jeans. Recently I started letting go of some items. Even some of the brown and black tops/tees – they were well worn, shrunk, and one had a weird pattern straight out of the 80s or 90s. A pair of jeans one size to big with an elastic sewn in by my mom years ago, not worn in at least 5 years. Two or three long underpants, not worn since I was in my early teenage years. Two pairs of mold ridden black sandals. You get the picture.

Brown might get a renaissance in combination with blue, because as I wrote in my last post, I want to get real leather boots, and I also managed to snatch this leather purse in a natural brown colour. In addition I’m currently flirting with natural white linen … need a white summer dress. (And I need summer … such a cold year we have!)

But all in all it’s obvious my colour palette always contains mostly soft, medium warm, darker natural colours. No pastels, no neon (except for the odd t-shirt prints), very little yellow/orange/pink/purple/red. Three chequered blouses, three striped tights, two dresses with floral patterns, and the rest are solid colours.

What do you think?

