Favourite Friday: Conversations

My favourite kinds of conversations are the ones which do not involve too many people. One to three people apart from me are okay most of the time. I don’t really like scheduled conversations because they can feel pretty unnatural and awkward (especially when someone says they want to talk to me alone without telling me why), but recently I learned to enjoy meeting up with a person one on one for coffee or hot chocolate to talk about university and a little bit about life. If they are the ones to ask it is much more comfortable, because then I know they really want to spend time with me or maybe even get advise. I love deep, meaningful conversations that seem to come out of the blue, like the ones when after a visit the first round of good-byes is said, but you just keep talking and sit down on the floor in the hallway for another hour. Or the day we met a friend at the station and stood there for an hour in the middle of the night, walked home, and stood there on the street for some more time. I even enjoy university related small-talk when I run across a fellow student in a building and it feels good to just stand there for a moment and compare the classes we attend or our homework loads. I love conversations that make me feel better. Talking to a lot of people or being in a big group which tends to split up into two or three groups talking among themselves makes me feel tired and exhausted, but when I spent some time talking to a person I really like it can leave me with a feeling of being more alive, more interested in getting a project started, or just emotionally satisfied and truly happy. Conversations which make me feel close to a person, and give me the impression of catching a glimpse of their heart.

What do you think?

