serendipity and finding things: wooden crate

From early childhood on I’ve had a tendency to find things. Funny things, expensive things, beautiful things, and material for creating new things. Some examples were big coins at the beach, a golden ring with a teeny tiny brilliant in a street in my hometown (of course we took it to the lost property office, but nobody claimed it, so after a year we could take it home for a small fee), small stones guiding my way, single earrings, big picture frames, and today a big wooden crate.

I like wooden crates, but the prices are crazy at the moment. The one I found today is pretty sturdy and has nicely stencilled lettering saying “Mount Athos Vineyard” in red, so at a home decoration store it would cost 20-30€! It was just there, leaning against a tree in the small street I usually come along when going to the mall for grocery shopping. I sent a short prayer for it to be there upon my return from my errands, et voilà, when I came back it still sat there in all its wooden glory. Sure, I had to scrub it and it would need a bit of sanding if I wanted to put delicate things into it, but it perfectly fits on top of my nightstand (which we found in the attic of our current apartment, by the way) and will serve as a small bookshelf for my favourite volumes. I like reading in bed and had been looking for a storage solution for some books for a while, so its a really nice instance serendipity :)

I hope to be able to share more findings and other cases of serendipity in the future. Sometimes things come for free if we just wait a little while – for another example, after I had been wishing for a sewing machine for some years we got a pretty good one for free from friends, we only had to pay for the repair it needed (we got if fixed a few weeks ago, finally).

3 thoughts on “serendipity and finding things: wooden crate

  1. Finding things can be scary though. I once, in 1991, bent down to pick up a blue marble from beneath the cobble stone on the way home from the library in an old East German town. A story came flying to me. A man, Eiffel tower, a parrot, a lost childhood, perfume and love. I skipped home, sat down and started to write it down. 30 pages, a small exercise book full. then, Seeing that this was merely the beginning chapter, I gave up, exhausted, spent. In 2001 at my University in another city, I walked by a shelf of books in the library. One jumped at me. The little savage, by Alexandre Jardin, written in 1992. I hardly got over the shock. It was the exact same story I had received earlier, but he had the skills to write it down. I read it through, Breathless. and that’s why it is dangerous to find things.

    • That truly sounds exhausting! I know the feeling of having to write down a long piece in one go because it’s just so overwhelmingly present in my mind. And I know the weird situation of wanting to write something and then notice it has been done before. Luckily my findings have only inspired me to write short vignettes (or blog post) if anything at all, so no danger ahead.

      • Life is mysterious sometimes! But that’s the fun in it. I find many Aspies have a deeper understanding of nature because their brains keeps everything connected so they can notice the small nuances and find messages that elude the masses because they do not connect it that much.

What do you think?

