master’s thesis … lost in translation

I need a good topic for my master’s thesis. Right now I’m sitting on my bed with the Swahili translation of Macbeth and hope that somehow I’ll get a better idea than analysing Shakespeare … why is there no Swahili version of The Lord of the Rings or 1984 or Brave New World? I found out someone wrote a science fiction novel in Swahili called Walenisi, but as far as I know it wasn’t translated to English – so much for comparing original and translation.

And I can’t start looking into the two other topics my prof proposed yet because both books are borrowed from the library by someone else right now. Sometimes I just want to curl up in a corner and convince myself that life without science could be happier. But would it? I’m not sure how long it would take until I’d be bored out of my mind. Maybe a year maximum.

One thought on “master’s thesis … lost in translation

  1. Science fiction! 1984 and Brave New World? Great books! I studied the later for a little bit, but then shifted to another dystopian literary work. Ever heard of Margaret Atwood’s MaddAddam? Maybe there’s a Swahili version of it? The original version has only been published last August, though. And, well, I’m not sure where you are located, but libraries in France/Europe are not as great as in the UK and in the US! Oh my! Studying in an American library is really comfy!

What do you think?

