Best Practices for Thrifting

I had planned to write a post about buying second hand, but Eva at Style Me Minimimal wrote a great guide a few months ago, so I just decided to reblog her post. Please visit her blog and give her posts some love :)
I’ll still write a post about what I do and what I don’t buy second hand yet on another day!

Style Me Minimal

IMG_2771I’ve been avoiding jeans shopping for months.  Thankfully patience and persistence paid off, and now I have two pairs of jeans to replace my ripped ones and my wide-leg ones (they didn’t fit well).

I bought these at a consignment store.  For shopping some items consignment is easier than thrift because the selection is smaller (less overwhelm) and the quality is better.

Either way, remember: Patience and Persistence.

Successful second-hand shopping can take a lot of repeat browsing.  Yet most minimalists don’t consider shopping recreational, so this may seem counterintuitive.  Still – sometimes you need to replace worn items or freshen your look, and buying second-hand is the most responsible way to do so.

thrisftig-resplendent-repurposing-300x200Give yourself some time!  Don’t go once, strikeout, and throw in the towel.  Come back every few weeks, browse the racks, try on a few things, and the call it a day.  Listen to…

View original post 252 more words

What do you think?

