first carrot

Today I had my first home-grown carrot for breakfast.

I found it when I was checking my flower vegetable pots and boxes because we had a lot of rain the last few nights and I don’t have a draining system for my tiny garden. Curious me decided to see how the carrots and radishes were faring, because especially the former ones are growing pretty close to each other. In the middle of the box I found this lovely carrot, then decided to eat it, as it wouldn’t have grown much bigger anyway – it was nearly as long as the box is deep already, and squeezed in between of some smaller carrots (which now have new room to grow).

When I was a young child and we still lived in a village we had some carrots in our big garden, but when we moved to a small town the soil in our garden there didn’t work for carrots (or the snails ate them all). Last year my first tiny urban garden yielded nothing but some bitter lettuce and a handful of mini-potatoes as the rest of my vegetables dried up in the sun, so this was the very first carrot all planted, cared for, and eaten by be my. It didn’t taste that good (a little on the bitter side), but I don’t care.I don’t now if I told you before, but my plan of decorating the roof in front of our east-facing windows with cornflowers worked! They don’t need a lot of soil, apparently, to bloom in wonderful shades of blue and purple.

What do you think?

