Favourite Friday: guilty pleasures

How do I spend my time when I’m not studying, taking pictures, or playing capoeira? I’ll tell you some not very sophisticated favourite amusements of mine.

Reading fanfiction. Sometimes pretty trashy stuff, you know, like stupid sappy love stories or totally random humour. Whenever I start watching a new TV series I really like (even when re-watching it after years) I end up spending some evenings reading stories on topics like 200 ways in which Scully and Mulder try to annoy their boss, or Christmas celebrations on the starship Voyager. The only thing keeping me away from “Lie to me” fanfics at the moment is a combination of urgent university work and the fact that I already read most of the more interesting existing stories a while back.

Listening to a song several times in a row. Once I had one single song on repeat for well over an hour. At the moment I don’t mind listening to “I see fire” five times or more each day.

Listening to stupid songs and mix-ups. Like “Captain Jack” (the “The Mission” album is in my CD-player right now) or this one https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nlNr-Vf9L2c

Educating myself on useless topics. I highly recommend following the source links at pages like www.omgfacts.com. Did you know there is a species of sea slugs which is able to do photosynthesis?

Watching Tokyo Mew Mew in Japanese. I don’t even really like most episodes of the anime show (the mangas were better), but at least the English fan subtitles make more sense than the official dub. The opening and ending songs are pretty cool.

And of course I enjoy telling people to look up “German Sparkle Party” on Youtube.

 

 

Bonus video:

What do you think?

