Favourite Friday: more intelligent pastimes

After last week’s confession of guilty pleasures it’s time to tell you I don’t spend all of my free time working on lowering my I.Q.

I like reading geeky/nerdy webcomics, for example https://xkcd.com and http://geek-and-poke.com. While I don’t understand everything I do learn new things on some days.

When looking up random topics I don’t stop at reading about the photosynthesis of sea slugs, but also educate myself on medical/psychological phenomena.

Thinking and talking about complicated stuff from TV shows. One of my favourites is the line “the mathematical progression of the harmonics in each given pattern relative to its spectral equivalent” (Daniel Jackson in the Stargate SG1 episode “The Sentinel”), which I still quote occasionally because it’s so awesome. Shows with science-y stuff generally make for great conversations. At the moment we watch a lot of “Lie to me”.

Saying lines from “Macbeth” or poems by heart from time to time so I won’t forget them. In school we had to learn poems and scenes by heart sometimes, and I truly enjoyed it. Still being able to recall the sad yet beautiful brief candle monologue and the first scene with the three witches after all these years feel very satisfying.

Watching TED talks. The TED channel on Youtube is one of my favourite sources of infotainment. I like infotainment.

What do you think?

