Memory Tanka

laundry on the line
just a summer memory
of apples and white roses

remaining in smooth cursive
ink on white paper

~~~

I wanted to write a haiku and stick to 5-7-5 syllables (even though this isn’t necessary, I was told a while ago; still I like to do it the way my friend taught me). Instead this ended up a as something like a a tanka with 5-7-7/5-7 syllables (instead of 5-7-5/7-7). Close enough.

Inspired by Heather Dale’s song “White Rose” and the memory of someone.

What do you think?

