I Miss Capoeira – This Cold Sucks

I’ve been ill for about three weeks now. Nasty cold with occasional high temperature means I have to stay away from capoeira (and running around in general, I can’t even run to catch my train without wheezing and coughing). It started just a couple of weeks after Christmas break; and together with the issue of two of our previous gym halls being demolished this makes for two months of very little capoeira at all. Last week when I was beginning to feel better I started to do some push-ups, crunches, and handstand/headstand against the wall, but that was before the coughing got out of control. Right now I’m on antibiotics (took the third and last pill a few hours ago, thankfully none of the very common nasty side effects apart from feeling high the first day, which was kind of funny) and take an antitussive at night that is related to opiates (the package insert says it might cause euphoria, but so far I’ve experienced the opposite – depressed crying at night and stuff like that). At least my head is pretty clear again during the day.

I miss class so badly. Capoeira is what makes me feel alive, strong, free, accepted. I want to move and get stronger. I miss playing with my friends, the singing and laughing and feeling exhausted but satisfied by the end of the evening. Maybe by the end of next week I’ll be able to start again.

I have to be more careful than last year – back then I tried to go back too soon and ended up with nearly two months of recurring colds, overall weakness, and a lot of pain in my lungs/abdominal muscles. Not something I want to experience again, thank you very much.

 

What do you think?

