Heather Dale tells the story behind “One of Us” – Girl Power and Swords ! :)

I love this song (especially the fast version) and I love the story behind it. I highly recommend you to listen to the whole explanation of the song she gives, the end is really cool and proves that there are some pretty role models out there for young girls. There is more to life than flowy dresses! And I love how she uses her recorder as a sword while singing :D

I remember doing mock sword fights with my siblings – we lived in an old town with historic buildings and a yearly medieval fair, so naturally we were well stocked with wooden short swords. Our mom got a little angry when we used the lids of big plastic bins (for storing all our legos) as shields. There even is a photograph of little me in a set of “armour” I had glued or stapled together made of white office paper and decorated with red lipstick of all things. I think this was before we had even moved to said town. So yes, stories of ladies wanting to have fun fighting are something that really resonates with me!

Sadly I’m grown up now and have no clue where my trusty old wooden sword is, but recently I saw a slightly bigger one in our Asian supermarket and was very tempted to buy it (after all I plan to do some fantasy themed photo shootings in the future!), but told myself this wasn’t a good idea, as I’m on a budget. A few days later the sword was gone and to this day I deeply regret not having bought it. Still hoping for a new one to appear in that shop …

 

What do you think?

