my first flexi-8 hair clip :) (“compass rose”)

IMG_2885_01.resized

My first flexi-8 hair clip arrived today! So I guess I’m officially a hair geek now (this kind of hair clip is mostly worn in the long hair community where people try to grow long, healthy hair by using sensible care and styling products instead of nasty chemicals, curling irons, and hair elastics/barrettes with sharp-edged metal caps).

It’s a second-hand flexi I found online, it’s the “Compass Rose” model in size M. Darling bought it for me as an early graduation gift (just one more week to get all this writing done *faint*).

I like this one, it looks a little more elegant than what I usually use to hold back my hair (mostly black elastics, a piece of blue ribbon, and a uni-colour hair stick) while not being too flashy or girly. The design reminds me of Finnish symphonic metal, arctic cold, Polaris, a sub-plot in my unfinished novel, and the song “Light of the North” by Heather Dale. It’s one of the few flexi designs I’d classify as more or less gender neutral (okay, the rhinestone in the middle is still up for debate). Neutral stuff makes me feel comfortable in my own skin.

And I’m glad I finally own something that works like a hair stick in a bun, while it doesn’t pose a constant threat to the eyes of people who hug me (the two hair sticks I own are quite long and pointy).

I don’t plan to collect a lot of flexi hair clips, though I’ve been ogling the “Tidepool Treasures” design for a while – it has a blue starfish on it! If I get used to wearing my hair down again I might buy this in one of the smaller sizes in summer to keep my front hair out of my face in a half-up.

And I can proudly report that the first strands of hair have reached my waist, I hope the rest will follow soon :)

What do you think?

