First home-made bread of the year

P1310375.resized

Because of a lot of stress (master’s thesis, family issues, and health problems) I haven’t had time and energy to bake my own bread this year so far. Today I felt motivated to get back to it – store-bought bread just doesn’t come with a nice crust, and I craved some ‘real’ food. This bread is a very simple one, made from spelt flour (1/2 whole grain, 1/2 white flour) with dry yeast, salt, and water. I added a little bit of baking powder for extra fluffiness and put a bowl of water with salt and herbs in the oven. Top and bottom are sprinkled with pestled flaxseed and amaranth (adding some crunch and nutrients).

One of these days I want to try my hands at sourdough.

The best thing about fresh bread (besides getting to choose the ingredients)? Eating the first, still warm slice with butter.

One thought on “First home-made bread of the year

  1. I used to bake my own bread too; I hated the feeling of the dry ingredients, but the aroma of rising yeast, knocking back the risen heap, and that first warm slice with crunchy crust… mmmmm

What do you think?

