Less sugar, more nuts and dates

After reading more than a few articles about the dangers of sugar and talking to people who feel much better since eating “paleo” I decided it was time for me to cut the amount of sugar I consume. A while back I already began to reduce the amount of white wheat flour in my diet and switched to less processed spelt and ray for my homemade goods, while eating more rice than pasta. I don’t plan to go completely paleo – my life would be depressing without some good bread or sticky rice, but I’ve started to replace the sweets in our snack drawer with nuts, dates, ground almonds and coconut, and all these things. Some of the flour in my sourdough breads is replaced with flax seed, amaranth, chia seed, and whatever I can find. I hope to be able to increase the amount of these ingredients as my taste adapts. But I won’t say no to the occasional store-bought pizza or – like today – baked fish in a white bun bought on the way, as long as these stay exceptions. And I’ll still eat lentils or big red beans when I feel like it, same with cheese and yoghurt.

Energy balls made from dates, almonds, coconut, coconut oil, cocoa powder, and amaranth are quite nice and taste a little like sweet brownies!

Still working on the vegetable part, though … I’ll have to learn how to prepare more vegetables in a way that really makes me want to eat them. On Sunday I’ll try to make a big meat patty (beef and egg), top it with lots of cooked broccoli and cauliflower, and put some cheese on it.

What do you think?

