teach me in silence. (renga)

without any words
speak to me in clarity
guiding hands and gaze

as you move in eloquence
I’ll be your young reflection

~

Some things are learnt best by imitation. First I had to learn (and I’m still learning) the art of emulating complex movements and heeding tiny signals – a flick of the hand, a line drawn by a gaze, a quick wink or smile, a beckoning head-tilt. Watch, interpret, try, fail, try again. Eventually I became more fluid than I had ever dared to hope in this silent way of teaching more than what is conveyed in words. Still I can’t see everybody equally clearly, but some people are “visible” enough for me to be able to follow their lead in a way that makes me feel comfortable and safe. I’m always glad when I get to spend some time learning from one of them. Sometimes I wonder if these are people who used to be a little like me when they were younger.

What do you think?

